Black Dog Knotwork

While the needlebook is getting the bulk of my stitching time at the moment, the black dog hasn’t been entirely neglected. I’ve finished the satin stitch padding, and begun stem stitching my way around both the outline of the dog and the outline of the knotwork.

While the outline of the dog and the outline of the knotwork are done in stem stitch, the black is one strand and the gold is three strands. After the knotwork outline is done, I’m going to fill it in with a variegated blue in split stitch. I’ve done knotwork before, but mostly using satin stitch, and I’m excited to see how this will turn out. My thought is that it will have a more ribbon-y feel when the stitching follows the knotwork lengthwise rather than across, but we shall see.

And if two projects weren’t enough, I’m playing with a third:

These little mice (for yet another box lid) are an experiment in texture.

Their paws are bullion knots, their tails will be satin stitch meant to echo the bullion knots, their faces will be split stitch, and I’m going to see how Turkey work looks on their bodies. (If it looks terrible, then I’ll figure out a plan B. Possibly more split stitch.)

4 thoughts on “Black Dog Knotwork

    • Wow! Those rats are gorgeous! I love how they look. These little guys aren’t quite that sophisticated–hope they turn out half as well.

      Thank you re: the dog. I’m having a lot of fun with it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. There’s an instant impulse to pet Black Dog, which is a good thing, I think. ๐Ÿ™‚ The padded stitching works beautifully.
    Thanks on the rats, those were tricky. Rats, mice, they aren’t the easiest of critters to stitch.

  2. Thank you! The first thing my son (who’s 5) did when he saw it was trace the knots with his fingertip, then pet the dog. Needlework does lend itself to touchability.

    Not only did you get the direction of the fur down, but rat garments! I’m impressed. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

