Little Creatures

My sister’s family tree is ticking along. The baby shower is this Saturday. Will I finish it in time? (It doesn’t actually matter whether I do or not; the baby’s not due for another month, and I will definitely have finished it by then. It would be nice to give it to her at the shower, though.)

I’ve finished the tree itself, added leaves, and started on some creatures:

The leaves are Caron Impressions which is a 50% wool, 50% silk blend. It’s more tightly twisted and plumper than the Bella Lusso Merino I used to stem stitch the tree trunk. It gives the leaves (done in leaf stitch) nice dimensionality.

The apples and the cardinal are done in split stitch with two strands of DMC floss. The bluebird will also be done in split stitch with two strands.

I’m going to try again with Turkey work on the squirrel’s tail. To that end, his body is split stitch with 4 strands of DMC floss for added height, and I’m going to try padding his face with a piece of felt. Fingers crossed he’ll look like he’s supposed to.

I used two colors of Bella Lusso wool to give the tree bark some texture while still leaving it open linework:

All in all, I’m happy with how it’s coming along

One thought on “Little Creatures

  1. Rene, is very interesting work! The Cardinal, if I call this the red bird, as the real thing. I hope you and the squirrel out, as you want. I sincerely wish your sister the lungs of a large health delivery and the baby))))

Leave a Reply

