On Pins and Needles

So close to finished!

After finishing the stitching on the cats (yay!) I wet-blocked them to get rid of some of the wibbly bits where the stitching had distorted the ground fabric. I washed the piece with Soak no-rinse wash and then rolled it in a towel to get rid of excess moisture. Then, I pinned the heck out of it, making sure that it fit the dimensions of the pillow form (18″ by 18″) and that the edges were more or less straight.

blockingThen I had only to wait for it to dry.

and wait... and not mess with it...I bought some nice, sturdy push pins, but when it came time to block, I couldn’t find them, so I used regular round-headed pins instead. The next day, I found the push pins.

Some close-ups:

ears!

 

whip itI whipped a lot of chain stitch over the course of this project. It was fun!

meowNow I have only (ha!) to sew the front to the back and stuff it with the pillow form.

I confess that the blocked piece has been sitting neglected with the back on the sofa for a couple of weeks now while I started another project. It’s been fun to focus on something small (using one and two strands of cotton floss) after working on a bigger scale with this.

 

8 thoughts on “On Pins and Needles

  1. I cannot get over how gorgeous that is! Absolutely beautiful.
    Never occurred to me to wet block, that would be very helpful. Something to do in future.

    • Thanks, Caine. I got the wet-block impulse from my knitting background, but I think it’s helpful in a lot of situations. Particularly (as in this piece) when a second layer might have been helpful as a stabilizer.

      • I don’t knit, never could get the hang of it, but the value of wet blocking is obvious. Another ‘duh’ moment for me. A while back, when I was making a series of embroidered pillows for friends, that could have saved me much grief. At least I know now, which is good, being that I’m working on another pillow, and the hoop I’m using won’t deal with more than one thin layer of stabilizer.

      • The most amazing transformation happens when you block knitted lace. It totally changes it.

        In retrospect, I probably should have used another layer to stabilize this, but oh well. Hindsight and all that. This didn’t get ALL the wibbles out, but it certainly helped.

Leave a Reply

