Peacock

2016-04-25 12.51.57I have been eyeballing this kit from The French Needle since I saw it on Needle’n’Thread last October. I finally took the plunge and ordered it. I’ve been working on smaller projects–little pincusions, temari balls, that sort of thing–and it’s really satisfying to get back to something a little bigger. The kit  comes with pre-printed linen, some beautiful variegated threads, and a list of DMC threads to finish it out. The instructions so far are clear and easy to follow.

2016-04-25 12.50.02

This is the first time I’ve ever used detached buttonhole stitch, seen here on the peacock’s wing. I was a little apprehensive about it, but I figured it out and I love looking at the texture. So far, most of what I’ve stitched has been long and short stitch, but once I get into the tail and the flowers, there should be plenty of fun texture to explore. Hope you are all having happy stitching!

6 thoughts on “Peacock

    • Detached buttonhole: not as hard as I thought it’d be. That vintage pattern is amazing! Likewise the deer you found with it. They both look like they’d make fabulous pillows (depending on how big they are!)

  1. They are pretty big, 20″ x 15″, more suitable for framing, I think. One of these days, I’ll work up to that peacock – they are a challenge, but I don’t think there’s any way to do them wrong, either. You can get as fanciful as you like. I’ll have to try the detached buttonhole. Thanks for that link, that’s probably the clearest explanation I’ve seen.

  2. Pingback: Peacock Progress | Nerdbroidery

Leave a Reply

